|John Ingersoll Coggeshall (1857-1927)|
A postcard view of
the trolley on Langsford Street, corner of Viking Street, Lanesville.|
Wainola Hall, a center of local Finnish culture, is the tallest building to the right rear.
the Langsford Street entrance, now Coggeshall Road.|
Today the studio on the left is occupied by painter Lynn Loscutoff.
The dormitory at
right offered ten double-occupancy rooms|
supplemented by tents on the lawn.
Theatrics at the Camp
c. 1922, looking west from the main lawn.|
Jon's mother "Little Edith" seated at center.
His grandmother "Big Edith" - Coggeshall's daughter - stands third from right.
A letter on Art Camp
|Jon MacDonald perusing family correspondence|
A watercolor painting
of Lanes Cove by John Coggeshall,|
hanging in Jon MacDonald's house.
|Boy Scouts in formation along the shoreline.|
|John Coggeshall, mounted|
|Scout Troop 7 on an outing by bus|
Waino Ray at Barker's
Photo by Walker Hancock.
We can anticipate that Jon MacDonald's exploration of the several cartons of his Coggeshall heritage will contribute to the tapestry of Lanesville lore that gratifies our ties to this place. His great-grandfather's paintings can be enjoyed at the Cape Ann and the Peabody Essex Museums.
Shoreline by John Coggeshall|
Collection of Robin Cody, formerly of Coggeshall Road